The Mad Hatter

Call it a kink or a quirk of nature in me but when it comes to knitting and crocheting, I’m a bit gung ho. As soon as I see something I’d like to make, I dive straight into the yarn stash, with little thought to choosing the correct yarn for the project in-hand. If I don’t have what is required, I simply choose by colour, texture…and how much is there. My friend, the very talented Suibhán on Craftlee, was aghast. ‘What? You can’t do that. It’s like following a recipe without having the right ingredients. It just won’t work!’ (Oops, guilty as charged on that one too). You see, it’s all about having the correct tension.

T-E-N-S-I-O-N.

Bless me sister, for I have sinned. And I  don’t just mean these hats. I made some very cute egg cosies recently. Gorgeous though they were, they wouldn’t fit anything that’s ever come out of a hen’s bottom. What can I say? So back to the hats. Don’t they look very pretty sitting here on the rocks? Shame that they are destined for the cranially challenged. But hey, luckily, I have a smallish head. Now call me a pea-brain, but I do so enjoy the creative process and one day I hope and pray that I will learn from my many weird and wonderful mistakes…