Shoot it, Sketch it

Window

I am joining in the fun at last by trying my hand at Shoot it, Sketch it, a concept started by Bec at Clouds of Colour, who has gained some very talented participants:

Poppytump

The Little Leaf

Anna Cull

Lunch Sketch

Two Scamps

Her Waking Sky

Last Sunday I decided to try my hand at painting with fibre – needle felting to be precise. I’ve never tried this before and didn’t have the full range of colours needed. I broke three needles in the process and stabbed myself twice. Ouch! Those needles are lethal. Last, but not least, I didn’t do my research first. I thought needle felting involved felting through a piece of fabric onto a foam base and now I know that fabric isn’t required.

Nevertheless, the result makes me smile.

Needle felting

Here’s my artist’s statement:

“This is from my naive period where everything I do looks as if it has been done by a ten-year-old. It’s all about getting in touch with my inner child…”

I really enjoyed the process and have learnt a few lessons along the way. For example, apparently one has to stab the felting needle in vertically to avoid breakage and one has to keep one’s other hand out of the way while doing so. (Note to self).