Minarets

Minarets

The tiny flower bed in our garden is finally looking good. You just wouldn’t believe the struggle it has been. Stick the spade in and you strike between a rock and a hard place. As for that encroaching grass from behind the dry stone wall…grr. Turn your back for a second and it takes over. Between that and the snails and slugs, I have nearly thrown the trowel (!) in on more than one occasion. It started off as a small vegetable patch a couple of years ago. We are talking about a 10′ x 5′ space but you just wouldn’t believe how long it took me to dig it. Honestly. Call me a wimp – but it was hard going! I started to imagine what my forebearers must have gone through when planting all of those potatoes. Anyway, I digress. As I watched plants disappear and the obese slugs grin slyly at me from under the nearby monbretia, I decided that flowers would be a better option, particularly as I am not always here to keep a close eye on things. So now, at last, I have some flowers! The plan was to have a blue and white bed and there are cornflowers, a lovely white rock rose, chives, rosemary, artichokes, fennel, onions (all grown for their aesthetic properties, of course) hydrangea and three other plants which shall remain nameless as I have lost the tags and now haven’t a clue what I have planted. (I’ll probably recognise them once they have flowered). So there you have it; confessions of a novice gardener. I was only going to post my pretty picture… far too much information.