Travel Theme: Stone

Beach stones on Tra Ban2

I nipped down to the island for an overnight stay on my own on Saturday as my husband and I have had to do it by relay this Bank Holiday weekend. A storm was due to hit England’s south coast last night and forecasters had warned of Ireland taking some of the brunt too, but I was well-away by then. However, I did get to enjoy a ‘pre-storm’ night of howling gales and lashing rain, pelting down on the skylight above my head all night. I woke to sunshine, rain and winds that almost knocked me off my feet. The sea was light aquamarine and wild, with waves crashing against the coastline, right up onto the fields above. I was on the beach before breakfast, in my element, but entirely frustrated that I didn’t have a decent camera to capture the spectacular waves. I have somehow gone from SLR to iPhone, a happy snapper who longs to have more control over images. My lovely old Nikon reminds me why I love taking photos and how great it was to think about exposure times, ISO and apertures. My snaps are fine (at times) but it is when I need to slow things down or zoom in or take a macro shot that I know I need and want a DSLR. I have been offered a second-hand Canon 550D but I am still dithering as there is so much choice out there. Anyway, whichever camera I go for, I hope you will see an improvement in my future images.

But back to Ailsa’s Weekly Travel Theme: Stone. I took the above picture while lying down on some very wet stones on Trá Bán beach on Saturday morning.

Now, I may be a little biased but I think Sherkin Island has the most beautiful and interesting stones you will ever see…

Mapped in stone

Mapped in stone

Dotty about you

Dotty about you

Lichen love

Lichen love

Bad hair day

Bad hair day

Bejewelled

Bejewelled

Clouds of stone

Clouds of stone